Portail-en » Ecole de Nancy » artists » E. André
:: home

Ecole de Nancy ::

E. André

Emile André Emile ANDRE
Nancy 1871 - Nancy 1933
Architect

Renauld Bank, 1908, rue Saint-Jean Bed room, circa 1902, Musée de l'Ecole de Nancy Study for the Magasin Vaxelaire, Musée de l'Ecole de Nancy Fernbach House, 1903, Parc de Saurupt, 5, rue des Brice Huot House, 1903, 92-92 bis, quai Claude le Lorrain 

 

 


Born into a family of businessmen and architects, Emile André studied architecture at the Paris Ecole Nationale des Beaux-Arts. He traveled to the Indies, Persia, and Tunisia and accompanied, on two separate occasions, an archeology team in Egypt. Called back to Nancy in 1901 by his father, Charles André, the departmental architect, André worked on important projects in which his first task was the renovations of the magasins Vaxelaire on rue Saint-Jean.

The same year, he and the architect Henry Gutton were in charge of drawing up the estate blueprints of Saurupt Park in which, in 1902, André designed the cartetaker’s house, Villa Les Glycines, and Villa Les Roches.

His numerous and diverse productions (houses, villas, buildings, businesses) are marked more by the study of plastic volumes than by decoration itself. The mastered implementation of numerous materials, in addition to the invention of new decorative forms mostly inspired by the gothic style, gave his buildings a singular and picturesque character. After WWI, he attends to the reconstruction of the destroyed Lorrain villages Flirey and Limey.

Some of his work still visible in Nancy include the Huot houses 92-92 bis quai Claude Le Lorrain (1903), the Lombard and France-Lanord buildings at 69 and 71 avenue Foch (1902-1904), the Renault Bank (currently B.N.P-Paribas) on rue Saint-Jean (1908).

Emile André was a member of the Ecole de Nancy Board of Management since 1901.

References :
Hervé Doucet. Emile André, artiste de l'Ecole de Nancy. Metz : Serpenoise, 2003