Portail-en » Nancy walks » presentation
:: home

Nancy walks ::

presentation

In 1901, the Ecole de Nancy was officially created. That same year also marks the entrance of Nancy’s architecture into Art Nouveau.

Villa Majorelle, Villa Majorelle, East and North side 1, Cliché P. Mignot Study for the Magasin Vaxelaire, Musée de l'Ecole de Nancy Fernbach House, 1903, Parc de Saurupt, 5, rue des Brice 

- Louis Majorelle entrusts the young Parisian architect, Henri Sauvage, with the construction of his personal house. Nancy artists Jacques Gruber and Henri Royer as well as Parisian artists Alexandre Bigot and Francis Jourdain also participate in the project.
The Villa Majorelle was quickly considered a distinct work of art.

The architects Charles and Emile André, in collaboration with Jacques Gruber and Eugène Vallin, initiated the construction of the Grands Magasins Vaxelaire and inaugurated the cycle of modernization in the center of the city. Business, banks, brasseries, and town houses where from then the heralds of architecture and of the new society.

It was also in 1901 that the architects Emile André and Henry Gutton drew the blueprints for the Saurupt Park. Modeled after Vésinet’s residence, the park was designed as a response to the anarchical expansion of the city and as a new attempt to transform the urban environment.

- From these pioneering experiences, a register of programs, typologies, decorative forms and elements (ceramics, architecture, ironwork, stained glass) emerged and heavily marked the look of the city. The circuit section offers visitors the opportunity to discover several Ecole de Nancy buildings designed by Emile André, Lucien Weissenburger, Georges Biet; Eugène Vallin, Henry Gutton and Paul Charbonnier amongst others.